Google To Announce Stadia's Pricing, Games, And Launch Details

Google has announced Stadia Connect, a presentation where it's set to reveal key info about its new video game platform, such as pricing, games, and launch details.
For the unaware, Stadia is a cloud gaming service that lets users play high-resolution games and such on any device that supports Chrome.
Stadia Connect
According to Google, it's going to disclose three pieces of important details regarding Stadia: "launch info," "game announcements," and "price reveal." It's unclear whether it's referring to an actual release date with "launch info," but at the very least, it's going to answer a lot of questions surrounding the new service.
It's scheduled to upload a livestream of the Stadia Connect event at 9 a.m. PT or 12 p.m. ET on June 6. On the other side of the pond, UK fans can tune in at 5 p.m. BST, while those in Australia will have to stay up late, as the show starts at 2 a.m. AET for them.
As for where to watch it, users can go to the official YouTube channel of Stadia
and view the livestream there. Of course, it's also accessible via the official YouTube app or the embedded video below.
Stadia Expectations
As mentioned earlier, Stadia will allow gamers to stream a variety of games on any device with a Chrome browser, including smartphones, laptops, and even TVs with a Chromecast Ultra dongle. Streaming 4K games at 60 frames per second is in the mix, but the thing is, users will need a fast connection
to support that resolution — 30 Mbps, to be exact. On the other hand, 1080p games at the same frame rate requires a connection of at least 25 Mbps.
Regarding content, Microsoft has said
that the Mountain View company doesn't have it, but it has been collaborating with Ubisoft for it, not to mention that Bethesda intends to launch Doom Eternal
for the platform.
As for the pricing, it's unclear how things will work, particularly whether Google will sell games separately or as part of subscription plans and the like. What's sure is it'll sell a Stadia controller.
This announcement comes just days before E3 2019 in Los Angeles, and as Google puts it, "some news can't wait for E3."
Some news can't wait for #E3
.
Tune into the first ever #StadiaConnect
this Thursday 6/6 at 9AM PT for exciting announcements, games, and more → https://t.co/dKmKakQeQp
pic.twitter.com/mZRagFGh4k
— Stadia (@GoogleStadia) June 3, 2019
Comment

No comments found