South Africa 35-17 Australia: Springboks win Rugby Championship opener

South Africa
 opened their Rugby Championship campaign with an emphatic win over Australia at Ellis Park Stadium.
The hard-tackling Springboks
, missing a number of regular stars, were driven on by Herschel Jantjies with the scrum-half scoring two tries on his Test debut.
He opened the scoring on ten minutes, before lock Lood De Jager rumbled over after Bernard Foley's penalty, but Dane Haylett-Petty's try left the tie 14-10 at the break.
 S'busiso Nkosi, a second from Jantjies and Cobus Reinach's overtime score completed the victory in the second period, with Foley's try the only response.
Herschel's namesake Elton impressed from the tee for South Africa kicking four conversions, while Foley added seven points with his boot for the Wallabies. 
Australia were made to pay for a number of botched scoring opportunities, with Lukhan Salakaia-Loto seeing an early ruled out for Samu Kerevi's forward pass. 
Haylett-Petty also fumbled the ball to miss out on a second score with the try-line clear ahead.
A yellow card for Andre Esterhuizen after 20 minutes stunted some of the Boks' early momentum, but Taniela Tupou's sin-binning just after the break also ended the visitors' hopes of a comeback.
Next up for South Africa is a tricky visit to reigning champions New Zealand, while Australia will look to bounce back at home to Argentina.
All four teams will be looking to use the three-round tournament to fine-tune preparations for the Rugby World Cup in September.  
For Australia, they issue is finding a reliable option at full-back to replace the sacked Israel Folau.
Tom Banks was handed the shirt for a third cap and first Wallabies start ahead of the more experienced Kurtley Beale, who came off the bench in the second half.
Exeter Chiefs scrum-half was also handed the chance to impress ahead of long-term incumbent Will Genia, but neither could help their country overcome what was effectively a Springbok's B-team.  
Stalwarts including Malcolm Marx, Handre Pollard and Faf de Klerk were omitted in favour of giving an opportunity to fringe players, including scrum-half Jantjies who ran the show throughout.
Gelant, Nkosi, Kriel, Esterhuizen, Mapimpi, E Jantjies, H Jantjies, Mtawarira, Mbonambi, Nyakane, Etzebeth, De Jager, Elstadt, P-S du Toit, Louw.
Brits, Gqoboka, Koch, Orie, Coetzee, Reinach, Steyn, Leyds.
 H Jantjies (2), De Jager, Nkosi, Reinach
 E Jantjies (4)
Banks, Haylett-Petty, Kuridrani, Kerevi, Hodge, Foley, White, Slipper, Fainga'a, Kepu, Rodda, Arnold, Salakaia-Loto, Hooper, Naisarani.
Uelese, Johnson-Holmes, Tupou, Simmons, Dempsey, Genia, Toomua, Beale.
Haylett-Petty, Foley
Foley (2)

No comments found